Herman Yoos re-elected bishop of ELCA South Carolina Synod


The Rev. Herman R. Yoos III was re-elected May 29 to serve a second six-year term as bishop of the South Carolina Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) during the Synod Assembly May 29-31 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center in Columbia, S.C.

Yoos was re-elected on the first ballot receiving 348 of the 423 votes cast (318 were needed for an election). Three ELCA pastors tied for second place, each receiving five votes: the Rev. Wayne C. Kannaday, associate professor of religion at Newberry College, Columbia, S.C.; the Rev. Wayne T. Roof III, pastor of Mount Tabor Lutheran Church in Columbia, S.C., and the Rev. Jason A. Schafer, pastor of Saint Luke’s Lutheran Church in Prosperity, S.C. Newberry is one of 26 ELCA colleges and universities.

Prior to becoming bishop in 2008, Yoos was pastor of St. Mark Lutheran Church in Charlotte, N.C., Lutheran Church of the Redeemer in Charleston, S.C., and Good Shepherd Lutheran Church in Columbia. He graduated from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill and the Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary in Columbia. He studied at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and earned a doctorate in ministry from Columbia Theological Seminary, Decatur, Ga. The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago and Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary in Columbia are two of eight ELCA seminaries.

Information about the ELCA South Carolina Synod is available at http://scsynod.com.